Grief in 40 Words

National Poetry Month begins today and with it, my commitment to write a poem each day of this month.  It’s been a while since I’ve even contemplated any kind of commitment to poetry and only tend to write it as the mood strikes. The last time I set aside time daily for poetry was my last year of high school, during which I composed a poem every day for six consecutive months.  The notebook that contains those poems still sits on my bookshelf as a reminder that I too am capable of seeing a project to fruition.  It’s a much needed reminder for a person who is far better at starting projects than finishing them.

I wrote the first of the month’s poems as I sat at my kitchen table tonight, keeping a watchful eye on dinner as it cooked.  The smell of roasting chicken reminded me of another meal, months ago, with someone who has since been lost to the world. Recalling the simple joy of sharing a meal, I penned a short piece about unraveling the threads that bound me to that person.  It is not a publication worthy piece, but it is is both a beginning and an end, forty words of grief to mark a new beginning.

AB-019
2 comments

  1. I would love to read that piece…but honor the privacy sometimes necessary for marking beginnings and endings in the grief journey because processing grief and unravelling the threads that have bound us to a person we’ve loved…wow…it’s such a difficult journey to make!

    1. Thank you for your comment. I probably will publish the poem some time in the future, but at the moment it is still very much a rough draft in need of polishing.

Leave a Reply

