Failure is Always a Viable Option

The mid-point of November has come and gone without so much as a “Hi, how y’all doin’?” and my NaNo novel for this year is progressing in much the same way.  I woke up this morning and realized that my word count is hovering just around 19,000.  That’s just a bit shy of the 26,666 that would have had me on par through yesterday.  For those of you who are not mathematically inclined, this means I am roughly 8000 words behind.  Excuse me while I go have a scream followed by a little lie-down.

It is not a hopeless situation, at least not yet.  I am happy to say that after a productive morning, the word count is now a bit over 24,000, which puts me only 2666 words behind where I should have ended yesterday.

Of course, we are not going to mention the additional 1667 words that will need to be written today just to stay on par.  Nor will we mention that there is a major holiday coming up that will eat way not only a few pounds of turkey and dressing,  but a good size chunk of writing time. I’m also due to make a trip to Savannah before the end of the month.  While the city inspires me immensely, I find writing on the road next to impossible, particularly when I’ve been officially designated as the official chauffeur and tour guide.   I also won’t mention that the character I’d intended to be the main antagonist has done a complete 360 and turns out not only to be batting for the other side, but is apparently managing the entire damn team.  This could get complicated, I think.

In short, that glimmer at the end of the tunnel may be the oncoming train of a November 30th deadline, rather than the gleam of a shiny new novel.  I’m not giving up yet, though.  In the words of Frost, I have ‘miles to go before I sleep’, not to mention many pages and several chapters and most of a whole damned novel.

 

Leave a Reply

