Countdown to November

  25 Days and counting…

When fall arrives, my thoughts turn to falling leaves, Halloween, and of course, National Novel Writing Month.  November has become a month of shared writing madness, best explained by the Venn diagram to the left.  If you’ve never heard of it, I can boil it down to you this way: write one novel of at least 50,000 words during the month of November.  That’s all – just write until your fingers bleed for the sheer pleasure joy madness of it.

This year marks NaNo #6 for me.  There’s only one small roadblock standing between myself and a sixth win:  I have no idea what I’m going to write.  There are fragmented ideas floating through my head, but none of them are lending themselves to a novel-length work.  Pulling out my notebook of possible story ideas hasn’t helped this year.  Nothing is quite appealing to me the way NaNo ideas typically do.  The muse is apparently away at the spa or skiing in the Swiss Alps.

I am a writer without ideas. I am a writer without a plot.  I am a writer without a single character in my head at the moment.  I am a writer who has 25 days to come up with an idea interesting enough to keep my full attention for another 30 days after that.  I am a writer who is living in a literary black hole where no ideas can escape.

Oh well, there’s always tomorrow. Maybe the muse will be back by then.

One comment

Leave a Reply

