Dear Writer’s Block

Dear Writer’s Block,

It’s not you, it’s me. First, let me say that the time we’ve spent together has been amazing.  You swept me off my feet, away from my writing desk, and filled my days and nights with pleasant diversions.  I’d forgotten what it was like to sit mindlessly in front of the television or to putter around the house without so much as a thought to putting pen to paper.  I am grateful to you for the times that you reminded me that there is a life outside of my own head and encouraged me to live it.

Even though ours has been a mostly amicable relationship, there have been some darker moments that marred it.   You took me to a place that I could have never gone to on my own-  a place where the voices of my characters were silenced and plot lines simply disappeared as if they never existed. When my characters tried to voice their concerns, you silenced them abruptly, sending them packing as quick as you could.  If a story began to weave itself in my head, you threw up walls and blocks that even an escape artist could not have managed.

It’s not you, Writer’s Block.  I know that you are who you are and aren’t capable of changing it.  I need my characters and my plots, no matter how dismissive you are of their value.  I need to know that they’ll be there when I wake up in the morning and that I can tuck them into bed at the end of the night.  I need to be able to feed and nurture my ideas until they become something more than mere thoughts drifting through my head. I need to be supported, not thwarted, when little problems arise.

I need you to leave and take with you the friends you’ve invited into my life.   Lethargy, Apathy, and Procrastination all need to go find homes elsewhere.  Go please, knowing that I don’t hold this against you.  You opened my eyes to what  I truly want in my life.  Unfortunately, it simply isn’t you.




(Credit for the writing prompt that sparked this entry goes to writersdigest.com    I was searching for a series of writing prompts to help break the ongoing case of writer’s block.  This was the one that got my attention.).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

